The new Serie A season will begin on September 19, a week later than originally planned.

The break between the autumn and spring part of the season will be shorter this year. Players will have a break between 23 December and 3 January.

The end of the league is scheduled for 22 and 23 May 2021.

This will be 119th season of Serie A. It will continue to include 20 teams. It is not yet clear whether the fans will be able to return to the stadions. So far, the situation with the pandemic is not good enough to allow full stadiums. Fans will be able to be satisfied if it is possible to attend matches in limited numbers. Several sources say that fans will most likely not be allowed to visit staiums at the start of the season. All clubs are making lot of efforts for at least limited attendance, as ticket sales make up a large part of the clubs budget. However, the last word in this decision belongs to the government of the Italy, which does not yet allow attending sports events.

The reason for the later start of the season relates to the later conclusion of the previous season due to the pandemic. Despite the fact that Juventus won the Italian title with only a point advantage over Inter, the race for the championsih title was decided before the last round. Juventus thus set a new record and won the title for the ninth consecutive time in a row. Inter, Atalanta and Lazio also won a place in the Champions League. All four teams had a significant advantage over the other teams at the end of the season. Roma, Napoli and Milan won the place in European League. Milan will have to play in the qualifiers, while Roma and Napoli are already automatically included in the group stage of the Europa League.

Among the surprises of the season we can certainly count Atalanta, which showed a very watchable and offensive football. Coach Gasperini tactics impressed many football experts around the world.
A bit disappointed at the end of season was Lazio, who restarted the league as the second-ranked team and in the end they won only fourth place. And this despite the fact that they have Ciro Immobile, the league's top scorer, who scored impresive 36 goals.

From Serie B, Benevento broke into SerieA as the winner with also the second-ranked Crotone. The last team to play in Serie A will be known on August 20, when Spezia and Frosinine will compete for the final spot.

Where will be Serie A broadcasted?

United Kingdom: Premier Sports, FreeSports
Australia: beIN Sports
France: beIN Sports
Germany: DAZN
Italy: SKY Sport, DAZN
New Zealand: Sky Sport
Portugal: Sport TV
Serbia: Sportklub
Slovenia: Sport TV
Spain: Movistar+
Switzerland: Teleclub

Serie A teams for season 2020/21


AC Milan





AS Roma














Favorites to win new Serie A season

AC Milan
Inter Milan
AS Roma